We all know that an important part of teaching is assessing and monitoring pupil progress. But in the absence of government defined levels as we have understood them, how do we do this? The Digital Schoolhouse decided to use two comprehensive and reliable documents to help map progression in the new curriculum as well as our coverage of Computational Thinking.

Computing Programme of Study with added DSH Numbering - Word Document

Computing Programme of Study with added DSH Numbering - PDF File

Using the Progression Pathways

CAS released Progression Pathways in 2014, which divides the curriculum into 5 strands and 8 levels of progression. This results in over 130 separate bullet points against which we can measure pupil progress.

As part of our workshop development we realised that we needed to find a simple way to be able to reference and map against individual bullet points with the Progression Pathways document. The result is the two documents below. The documents clarify the relationship between the progression points and computational thinking as well as providing you with the list in two different easy to use formats.

Progression Pathways – Computational Thinking Spreadsheet Mapping

Progression Pathways listed – word document

Prog Pathways CT Map.pdf

Developing Computational Thinking in the Classroom

2014 also saw the release of the Developing Computational Thinking in the Classroom Framework, also published by CAS. As a comprehensive guide for teaching computational thinking in the classroom this document outlines a range of activities that help develop algorithmic thinking, decomposition, generalisation, logical reasoning and evaluation skills. The documents below show the lists extracted from the main document and referenced. It is this referencing that is used within the Digital Schoolhouse workshops.

Computational Thinking Techniques – Word document

Computational Thinking Techniques – PDF File